Announcements

FYI

Mon Nov 3

CMS CLOSED FALL BREAK

Tue Nov 4

CMS CLOSED FALL BREAK

Thu Nov 6

El TriAtrs-Flat Stanley (9:30-10:30am)

Fri Nov 7

Elementary Special Lunch

Silent Journey (6:30-8pm)

Sat Nov 8

Silent Journey (9-12 noon)

Sun Nov 9

El Snack Week (Joseph)

Fri Nov 14

CCC Pizza Lunch(El & Peanuts)

Elementary Book Share - Elementary Bldg– (1:30-2:30pm)

Mon Nov 17-19

Camp Kanuga (Elementary Trip)

Fri Nov 21

Elementary Special Lunch

Mon Nov 24

CMS Annual Soup & Song - CMS Elementary Bldg—(6-8pm)

Wed Nov 26-28

CMS CLOSED





















   
     
     
     
   
     
     
     
   
     
     
     
     
   
     
     
     
   
     
     
     
   
     
     
     
     

 

 

 

 

 

 

Search
Categories
« Primary II - Susan and Patrick | Main | Primary 1 - Marjory and Judy »
Friday
Sep142012

Primary II - Susan and Patrick 

Maria Montessori had a vision that went beyond her curriculum. It was to bring peace to the world through education.  At the core of her educational curriculum is instilling reverence for the earth, the self, each other, the animals, plants, critters, other cultures, etc.  She was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize three times but never received the award. Friday, September 21st is International Peace Day. We will be celebrating by planting a tree near our building that will become our good deeds tree. Prior to planting the tree, we will talk about the parts of the plant.  Then the children will be able to recognize their good deeds or those of others by hanging a symbol on the tree each day. 

We will also begin adding food preparation/nutrition education to our curriculum next week.  Food preparation lessons not only give the children a practical life (cutting, slicing, grating, etc) and sensory experience (taste, smell, etc.) but also one that teaches grace and courtesy.  The children may eat the food they prepare themselves or they may walk around the classroom and offer it to others. We will begin with bread cutting as breaking bread is a universal symbol of peace.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend